New Hampshire Chicken: February Breed of the Month

The New Hampshire Red is a Dual-Purpose Heritage Breed Known for Fast Feathering

new-hampshire-chicken

Breed: New Hampshire chicken

Origin: United States. Development of the New Hampshire chicken breed began in 1915 from a foundation of Rhode Island Reds, first brought into New Hampshire from Rhode Island and Southern Massachusetts. The breed has been developed by farm poultrymen by the the continual selection of breeding stock for early maturity, large brown shelled eggs, and quick feathering. It was admitted into the American Standard of Perfection in 1935.

Standard Description: This is a great family-friendly, dual-purpose heritage chicken breed that lays consistently.

Our best chicken secrets revealed with this FREE guide!

Even old pros say they got dozens of tips for their flocks by reading this guide.
YES! I want this Free Guide »

Variety/Color: Red

Conservation Priority List: Watch
new-hampshire-chicken

Egg Color, Size & Laying Habits: 

•  Brown

•  Large

•  4-5 eggs per week

Temperament: Calm, friendly

Hardiness: Cold and heat tolerant

Weight: Large Fowl: Cock (8-1/2 lbs.), Hen (6-1/2 lbs.), Cockerel (7-1/2 lbs.), Pullet (5-1/2 lbs. lbs.); Bantam: Cock (34 oz.), Hen (30 oz.), Cockerel (30 oz.), Pullet (26 oz.)

Testimonial from a New Hampshire Chicken Owner:

“I have said I would be happy with a flock of only New Hampshires. These beautiful birds are hardy, friendly, and good layers. They can be the backbone of a productive and fun flock.” – Pam Freeman, editor of Backyard Poultry magazine and owner of Pam’s Backyard Chickens

Popular Use: Eggs and meat

Comb Type: Single

Sources:
Pam Freeman, photos
American Standard of Perfection – Forty-Fourth Edition

Promoted by: Brinsea

brinsea-incubators

See the Full List of Breed of the Month Features: 

POULTRY BREED SPONSOR LINK
Plymouth Rock Chicken Brinsea https://countrysidenetwork.com/daily/poultry/chickens-101/plymouth-rock-chicken-january-breed-of-the-month/
Easter Egger Chicken Mt. Healthy Hatcheries https://countrysidenetwork.com/daily/poultry/chickens-101/easter-egger-chicken-december-breed-of-the-month/
Lakenvelder Chicken Happy Hen Treats https://countrysidenetwork.com/daily/poultry/chickens-101/lakenvelder-chicken-september-breed-of-the-month/
Olandsk Dwarf Chicken Happy Hen Treats https://countrysidenetwork.com/daily/poultry/chickens-101/olandsk-dwarf-chicken-breed-of-the-month/
Saxony Duck Bluebonnet Feeds https://countrysidenetwork.com/daily/poultry/poultry-poultry/saxony-duck-july-breed-of-the-month/
Cochin Chicken Happy Hen Treats https://countrysidenetwork.com/daily/poultry/chickens-101/cochin-chicken-june-breed-month/
Ancona Duck Chubby Mealworms https://countrysidenetwork.com/daily/poultry/poultry-poultry/ancona-duck-may-breed-of-the-month/
Faverolle Chicken Tasty Worms https://countrysidenetwork.com/daily/poultry/chickens-101/faverolle-chicken-breed-of-the-month/
Ayam Cemani Chicken Greenfire Farms https://countrysidenetwork.com/daily/poultry/chickens-101/ayam-cemani-chicken-breed-of-the-month-gff/
Silkie Chicken Stromberg’s https://countrysidenetwork.com/daily/poultry/chickens-101/silkie-chickens-breed-of-the-month-strm/
Blue Andalusian Chicken Fowl Play Products https://countrysidenetwork.com/daily/poultry/chickens-101/blue-andalusian-chicken-bom-fp/
Australorp Chicken Mt. Healthy Hatcheries https://countrysidenetwork.com/daily/poultry/chickens-101/australorp-chickens-december-breed-of-the-month-mthh/
Rhode Island Red Chicken Fowl Play Products https://countrysidenetwork.com/daily/poultry/chickens-101/rhode-island-red-chicken-november-breed-of-the-month-fp/
Sussex Chicken SeaBuck 7 https://countrysidenetwork.com/daily/poultry/chickens-101/sussex-chicken-october-breed-of-the-month-sb/
Leghorn Chicken Fowl Play Products https://countrysidenetwork.com/daily/poultry/chickens-101/leghorn-chicken-september-breed-of-the-month-fp/
Ameraucana Chicken Fowl Stuff https://countrysidenetwork.com/daily/poultry/chickens-101/ameraucana-chicken-breed-of-the-month/
Brahma Chicken SeaBuck 7 https://countrysidenetwork.com/daily/poultry/chickens-101/brahma-chicken-july-breed-of-the-month-sb/
Orpington Chicken Purely Poultry https://countrysidenetwork.com/daily/poultry/chickens-101/breed-of-the-month-orpington-chicken/
Olive Eggers Chicken SeaBuck 7 https://countrysidenetwork.com/daily/poultry/chickens-101/may-breed-of-the-month-olive-egger-chicken/
Marans Chicken Greenfire Farms https://countrysidenetwork.com/daily/poultry/chickens-101/breed-of-the-month-marans-chicken/
Wyandotte Chicken Greenfire Farms https://countrysidenetwork.com/daily/poultry/chickens-101/wyandotte-chicken-june-breed-of-the-month/
Anchor
Comments

Leave a Reply

Credit Card Identification Number

This number is recorded as an additional security precaution.

americanexpress

American Express

4 digit, non-embossed number printed above your account number on the front of your card.
visa

Visa

3-digit, non-embossed number printed on the signature panel on the of the card immediately following the card account number.
mastercard

MasterCard

3-digit, non-embossed number printed on the signature panel on the back of the card.

×
Enter Your Log In Credentials
This setting should only be used on your home or work computer.

×
.

Send this to a friend

Shared with you:

New Hampshire Chicken: February Breed of the Month

https://countrysidenetwork.com/daily/poultry/chickens-101/new-hampshire-chicken-breed-of-the-month/