Belgian Bearded d’Uccle Chicken: March Breed of the Month

The d'Uccle is a True Bantam Chicken Breed, and the Mille Fleur is One of the Most Popular Varieties

Breed: Belgian Bearded d’Uccle bantam chicken

belgian-bearded-d-uccle-chicken

Photo by Pam Freeman.

Class: Feather Legged

Origin: Belgium. The Belgian d’Uccle bantam was bred for the first time in the small municipality of Uccle at the southeast border of Brussels, Belgium by Michel Van Gelder, sometime between 1890 and 1900. The ‘d’ in front of d’Uccle means from or of (Uccle). Most authors believe that the Belgian d’Uccle bantam is a cross between the Dutch Booted Sabelpoot bantam and the Antwerp Bearded bantam, but this fact is not known for sure.

Standard Description: A real showstopper, the Belgian Bearded d’Uccle is often on the must-have list for poultry enthusiasts. These bantams come in a variety of colors, each one just as unique and beautiful. These are curious-looking birds with a muff of feathers around their face, a bearded throat, and feathered legs and feet.

Keep Your Laying Hens Strong and Healthy

Our friends from Purina® wrote this free guide to help you enjoy farm fresh eggs for years. YES! I want this Free Report »

Recognized American Poultry Association (APA) Varieties: Mille Fleur (popular), Black, Porcelain, Golden Neck, Mottled, Self Blue, and White. Mille Fleur is French and translates into English as “thousand flowers.” They are named such because of the individual flower type markings on the ends of their feathers.

Egg Color, Size & Laying Habits: 

•  Cream or tinted

•  Small

•  2-3 eggs per week

Temperament: Calm, friendly, broody

Hardiness: Not heat tolerant

Weight: Cock 1 lb. 10 oz., Hen 1 lb. 6 oz., Pullet 1 lb. 4 oz.

Testimonial from a Belgian Bearded d’Uccle Chicken Owner:

“I started raising Belgian d’Uccles, a true bantam chicken breed, quite by accident. I had bought a few mixed bantam chicks at the feed store and one ended up being a Mille Fleur d’Uccle. That little guy was super personable insisting on being picked up all the time. As he got older, he enjoyed riding on my shoulder as I did chores. I’m not sure if he thought he was a parrot or maybe he thought I was a pirate, but that rooster single-handedly made me fall in love with the breed! I’ve had d’Uccles ever since, often seeking out well-known breeders for chicks to improve my lines.” – Lisa Murano

belgian-d-uccle

 

Popular Use: Ornamental

Comb Type: Single

Sources:
American Standard of Perfection – Forty-Fourth Edition
Belgian d’Uccle & Booted Bantam Club

Promoted by: Stromberg’s

millie-fleur-belgian-bearded-d-uccle-chicken

See the Full List of Breed of the Month Features: 

POULTRY BREED SPONSOR LINK
New Hampshire Chicken Brinsea https://countrysidenetwork.com/daily/poultry/chickens-101/new-hampshire-chicken-breed-of-the-month-2/
Plymouth Rock Chicken Brinsea https://countrysidenetwork.com/daily/poultry/chickens-101/plymouth-rock-chicken-january-breed-of-the-month/
Easter Egger Chicken Mt. Healthy Hatcheries https://countrysidenetwork.com/daily/poultry/chickens-101/easter-egger-chicken-december-breed-of-the-month/
Lakenvelder Chicken Happy Hen Treats https://countrysidenetwork.com/daily/poultry/chickens-101/lakenvelder-chicken-september-breed-of-the-month/
Olandsk Dwarf Chicken Happy Hen Treats https://countrysidenetwork.com/daily/poultry/chickens-101/olandsk-dwarf-chicken-breed-of-the-month/
Saxony Duck Bluebonnet Feeds https://countrysidenetwork.com/daily/poultry/poultry-poultry/saxony-duck-july-breed-of-the-month/
Cochin Chicken Happy Hen Treats https://countrysidenetwork.com/daily/poultry/chickens-101/cochin-chicken-june-breed-month/
Ancona Duck Chubby Mealworms https://countrysidenetwork.com/daily/poultry/poultry-poultry/ancona-duck-may-breed-of-the-month/
Faverolle Chicken Tasty Worms https://countrysidenetwork.com/daily/poultry/chickens-101/faverolle-chicken-breed-of-the-month/
Ayam Cemani Chicken Greenfire Farms https://countrysidenetwork.com/daily/poultry/chickens-101/ayam-cemani-chicken-breed-of-the-month-gff/
Silkie Chicken Stromberg’s https://countrysidenetwork.com/daily/poultry/chickens-101/silkie-chickens-breed-of-the-month-strm/
Blue Andalusian Chicken Fowl Play Products https://countrysidenetwork.com/daily/poultry/chickens-101/blue-andalusian-chicken-bom-fp/
Australorp Chicken Mt. Healthy Hatcheries https://countrysidenetwork.com/daily/poultry/chickens-101/australorp-chickens-december-breed-of-the-month-mthh/
Rhode Island Red Chicken Fowl Play Products https://countrysidenetwork.com/daily/poultry/chickens-101/rhode-island-red-chicken-november-breed-of-the-month-fp/
Sussex Chicken SeaBuck 7 https://countrysidenetwork.com/daily/poultry/chickens-101/sussex-chicken-october-breed-of-the-month-sb/
Leghorn Chicken Fowl Play Products https://countrysidenetwork.com/daily/poultry/chickens-101/leghorn-chicken-september-breed-of-the-month-fp/
Ameraucana Chicken Fowl Stuff https://countrysidenetwork.com/daily/poultry/chickens-101/ameraucana-chicken-breed-of-the-month/
Brahma Chicken SeaBuck 7 https://countrysidenetwork.com/daily/poultry/chickens-101/brahma-chicken-july-breed-of-the-month-sb/
Orpington Chicken Purely Poultry https://countrysidenetwork.com/daily/poultry/chickens-101/breed-of-the-month-orpington-chicken/
Olive Eggers Chicken Mt. Healthy Hatcheries https://countrysidenetwork.com/daily/poultry/chickens-101/may-breed-of-the-month-olive-egger-chicken/
Marans Chicken Greenfire Farms https://countrysidenetwork.com/daily/poultry/chickens-101/breed-of-the-month-marans-chicken/
Wyandotte Chicken Greenfire Farms https://countrysidenetwork.com/daily/poultry/chickens-101/wyandotte-chicken-june-breed-of-the-month/
Anchor
Comments

Leave a Reply

Credit Card Identification Number

This number is recorded as an additional security precaution.

americanexpress

American Express

4 digit, non-embossed number printed above your account number on the front of your card.
visa

Visa

3-digit, non-embossed number printed on the signature panel on the of the card immediately following the card account number.
mastercard

MasterCard

3-digit, non-embossed number printed on the signature panel on the back of the card.

×
Enter Your Log In Credentials
This setting should only be used on your home or work computer.

×

Send this to a friend

Shared with you:

Belgian Bearded d'Uccle Chicken: March Breed of the Month

https://countrysidenetwork.com/daily/poultry/chickens-101/belgian-bearded-d-uccles-chicken-breed-of-the-month/